new - old - profile - cast - rings - links
reviews - email - guestbook - notes
diaryland - RP Designs

Let's get it on (2003-07-18 - 4:09 p.m.)

Just thinking about tonight is making my heart race. I�m going to get another little taste of heaven, but at least this time I�ll be getting it with a �full face�. Without one of these it�s not as enjoyable�if you�re planning of driving at speeds over 120km. Because once you hit those speeds your eyes start to water and you struggle to see the white line in front of you. Your tears evaporate before they reach your ears, which can�t even hear anymore due to the wind blasting over them at high speeds. If you haven�t figured out what�s on the docket for tonight, I�ll tell you. An entire evening of freedom, 2 lane blacktops and holding on for dear life! No matter how many times I throw my right leg over a bike I still manage to feel that fervent rumble in my belly.

There�s one thing that all riders must know before climbing onto a machine�that fear and respect must be in the back of your mind at all times or you�ll end up dead. Up until last year I had no fear of 2 wheels�until I laid them down. You�ll be surprised how much getting a �tattoo�, (when you get road rash during a spill) that burns all the way down to the bone, can put a little respect into you.

One day, 2 summers ago, I was up at FL cottage in the townships when I decided to take his bike out for a spin around the mountain. At the time I thought that it was a good idea to drive after having a few beers. You know��We�re in the middle of no where, who�s gonna know?� Bad idea. After driving up and down the dirt road, throwing a 6foot rooster tail, I started to get pretty cocky. (Hehehe, get it, rooster, cocky�never mind.) I thought that driving up the dirt bike trail would be fun, and at the same time challenging. Bad idea number 2, since FL�s bike is pretty heavy and not meant for jaunts up in the mountains. Surprisingly, I made it pretty far up the trail, but decided that I should turn back due to the rocky nature of the next 50 yards or so. I turned around and jammed the hammer down. God; I was flying down that mountain! I hit the gravel at 80km�s and started to loose the back wheel�and that�s all she wrote.

I don�t know why I just got into that, but it feels good to talk about it once and a while. It keeps me on my toes and makes me remember that always pushing the envelope will usually do you more harm than good.

On that note�wish me luck tonight!

previous - next