new - old - profile - cast - rings - links
reviews - email - guestbook - notes
diaryland - RP Designs

Closing Time & Nic Fits (2003-07-1 - 5:00pm)

The mad dash for the finish line is on. The final stretch at work. The infamous 5:00 to 6:00 hour. There�s no better feeling than the one you get the second you walk out that front door. No matter how rewarding your job is, and no matter how much you love it, that moment when the warm winds of sovereignty hit you face you know that you were meant to be free. That�s the moment I�m waiting for right now. It�s actually quite boring after 5:00 around here. Everyone else in my office leaves at the normal time, so I�m left to my own devices for sixty minutes. Which is really great for the first 20, but then it just gets monotonous. Survey�s on EMode , email checks and lackluster conversations with fellow msners are all I have to pacify the hunger for the outdoors and cigarettes.

Today is one of the first �good� days since my breakup, and I feel a tad guilty about it. I�ve been in good spirits and have been having a great time with all of my coworkers. I even caught myself in a moment that wasn�t revolving around FL. And you know what? It felt pretty good. Not that I don�t care or love him anymore, because I still do. It just hurts less. I suppose I saw this coming since Italy and had prepared myself for the worst. Now that the worst has come and gone, I�m starting to feel like the old me again. My confidence is on an upswing and my cheeks are actually sore due to incessant smiling.

The Wave has finally broken, falling back just far enough for life to be good again.

previous - next