new - old - profile - cast - rings - links
reviews - email - guestbook - notes
diaryland - RP Designs

The Zoo (2003-07-03 - )

I had the privilege to visit Granby Zoo this weekend, and people if you�ve never been you�ll just have to change that. Other than screwing up my hip in the wave pool, I had an excellent time. There were so many �America�s Funniest Home Video�s� moments that I thought I was going to die, and no, not the new AFHV, the old school one with this guy. (You�re too cool my ass!!!)

Monkeys with puffy red asses were fornicating everywhere; it was enough to give a major sexuality complex to any young child!!! I, on the other hand, thought it was hilarious. Watching these little devils scamper about their enclosure; copulating at every opportunity, I observed the faces of the people around me. Some of the on-lookers pretended that they were disgusted, (but secretly intrigued) others laughed; not knowing how to react, and some simply scoffed and walked off to the next exhibit. I just stood there taking it all in, enjoying the people and their silliness. It�s funny how things that are natural and instinctual to us have been turned into something ugly. Who would have thought�it being 2003 and all?

FL and I made our way into to �Africa� area where the gorilla�s where confined, and when we got there we were met with the biggest animal we had ever seen. This silverback was huge! A large crowd had gathered around the 2-inch glass to look at this beast. One spoiled 3 year old started bitching at his father saying, �Papa, it�s not doing anything�I WANT TO SEE IT MOVE!!!� His father tried to quite him down, but to no avail. As this was going on I looked around this poor guy�s �habitat� for something interesting, dully noting the �DO NOT HIT THE GLASS� sign. This 3 year old obviously didn�t get a chance to read the sign since he started banging on it with all of this toddler might. The gorilla slowing started to turn towards the noise then got up and lethargically moved closer to the glass. He stopped once he was about 4 feet from this kids face, and just stared blankly into space. Without warning this beast pounced�flying towards the child at break-neck speed. He hit the glass with a loud bang and proceeded to belt it with hit huge hands. The kid freaked. After the entertaining scene I laughed so hard that I thought the kids father would come over and deck me. Spoiled little brat, that�s what you get for not listening to your daddy.

So, if you enjoy seeing primates doing the dirty deed and 800lbs silverbacks terrorizing small children, make a point to drive the 45 minutes out to Granby and have a great time.

previous - next