new - old - profile - cast - rings - links
reviews - email - guestbook - notes
diaryland - RP Designs

Brunz vs. Mini-Judo-Teddy Bear (2003-07-11 - )

Isn�t great to see a friend again that you had lost contact with? That fantastic feeling that things haven�t changed so much since your youth that you can still spend an evening with someone that you haven�t seen in years, and not feel uncomfortable. The highland that true friends reach once they�ve totally accepted each other�s pros and cons is a great place to observe life from. I was starting to miss that plateau, that wonderful place where you�re still 10 years old and indestructible. Where the friends you met you keep for life.

I was going through my phonebook on Tuesday night trying to find someone to talk to. I was feeling alone and needed some good conversation. I stumbled upon Stef�s number and thought, hey, maybe it�s still in service, and dialed it up. (I hadn�t even spoken to him for months, so you can imagine how long it had been since we last seen each other.)Stef was one of my closest friends after the world renowned �Ice Storm� in Quebec, which is when we met. (How we met is a totally different entry all together!) He�s my mini-judo-teddy bear. Don�t get confused, he�s a double black belt in some type of martial arts, 5 feet tall, and has the most adorable face, hence mini-judo-teddy bear.

After a few rings I started to think that no one would answer and went to hang up in disappointment. To my pleasant surprise he picked up! He was ecstatic to hear from me. We shot the shit for a while and decided that I should drop by his place for a beer. I showed up last night at around 8:00 and didn�t leave until midnight. It was great! Things were still cool enough between us that we could just sit there watching T.V. without feeling obligated to make pointless conversation. There was no tension to be eased; it was just like old times.

I was shocked when he inadvertently proved just how small this world really is. Brunz is a native of the small town that I grew up in, but I never really knew him when he was still living there. I gave him a call while at Stef�s to ask him something about our future refrigerator (or something to that effect), when Stef asked me what �this guys� last name is. I told him. Turns out that Stef and Brunz knew each other pretty well �back in the day�. How bizarre is that? We�re going to have a little reunion party once I get moved into my new place.

Two friendships got glued back together last night. Totally kick ass.

previous - next