new - old - profile - cast - rings - links
reviews - email - guestbook - notes
diaryland - RP Designs

Butting Out (2003-12-30 - 8:03 a.m.)

Well ladies and gentlemen...I'm finally doing it...I'm quitting smoking. Yesterday I was outside smoking my "after lunch" smoke and out of the blue decided to quit right then and there. I was planning on trying to quit for New Years, but you know the drill, no one ever quits for their resolution. That cigarette the next morning to ease your hangover is a little to easy to reach for. I stocked up on quitting supplies last night...ie: $100 worth of patches and gum. Hey, I never said that I was going to do this alone...everyone needs a helping hand, right?

I've just lost so many things from smoking...and I want them back. I've been a kick ass singer all my life, but in the past year I haven't quite been able to hit some of those high notes the way I used to. Singing means a lot to me, and I'm not going to give up one of my favorite thing just to indulge in another that is, stripped down, killing me. Well, that and they cost almost 10 bucks a pack these days.

This is the lostest I've ever gone without a cigarette in over 11 years. The only other time that I'm made it this long was when I was in the hospital after my back surgery. And come on, who really has the strength to get up, walk outside (with your morphine and antibiotic I.V's planted firmly in your arm, mind you) and spark one up after a 9 hour surgery? I don't control my life anymore...smoking does...and I'm taking the power back.

previous - next