new - old - profile - cast - rings - links
reviews - email - guestbook - notes
diaryland - RP Designs

Phlah (2003-07-31 - 12:41 p.m.)

Since today is my last day at work for the next week, time has decided to be a bitch and pass as slowly as possible. I purposely got here early this morning so I could get all of my shit done before I leave for the week�you know�me being the fantastic employee that I am and all. Well, I arrived here at 9:00 and have been working like a fiend since that time. Around 10:15 I started having my usual feeling of �JESUS CHRIST, IF I DON�T HAVE A CIGARETTE SOON I�M GOING TO FIND THE NEAREST BELL TOWER AND START PICKING PEOPLE OFF WITH A HIGH POWERED SEMI-AUTOMATIC WEAPON�. So, I rummage through my purse looking for my trusty pack of Export �A� Blues only to find that it�s not in there.

Panic.

Complete and utter panic.

I�m one of those smokers who will go out of her way to make sure that she�s always got a reserve pack if the one that currently open has dropped to under 5 smokes.

You can imagine that I was starting to get a little worried. Being only 10:15, I still had over 3 hours until my lunch break. I wouldn�t be able to buy more until then. My heart was racing, it was as if someone was dying and I couldn�t do anything. To add to my dilemma, I am pretty much the only smoker in the office, Bum being the only other person. Terrified, I run over to Bum�s desk and beg him for a smoke. He just looks up at me apologetically and replies��Oh, I left them in my car. Sorry.� I scream at him to give me his keys, I could make it there in time, smoke the cigarette, and get back to my desk before anyone realized that I was gone. At first he didn�t seem to like the idea of a wild woman rummaging through his car, but finally gave in to me when he saw that I was about to totally spaz.

After those keys made it into my hands, I ran more quickly than any 100meter Olympic medallist, down the stairs, through the parking lot and straight to Bums car. I could see the red pack through the glass. I felt like a crack head waiting to get his/her fix.

Let me ask you one thing�do you think I run my life? Or do you think smoking does.

previous - next